Locals and Others Pay Tribute to Buddy Holly, Karen Elson Covers Lou Reed, Cy Barkley's Way Outsiders 'Rock Together,' American Idol-Worship Set for Bridgestone, Half-Priced Those Darlins Tickets at Grimey's, Local H Tonight at Exit/In [Newsy Bits]


1 comment

Hey, why not?

Check it out! It’s Thursday!

In other news:

* Anyone old enough to remember when pseudo-psycho Gary Busey used to act as characters other than himself probably recalls his masterful, star-making, starring role in 1978’s The Buddy Holly Story. Since Busey has resorted to riding into the sunset of his career as a pop-culture punchline, horsin’ off with John Rich, Meatloaf and others (all for the amusement of noted fuckface of fucked faces and recently figuratively bitch-slapped Birther Donald Trump), you’re more likely to see him reprise his role as meatball-sandwich-loving Agent Angelo Pappas in a sequel to Point Break — which celebrates its 20th anniversary this year, BTW — before you see or hear him sing “That’ll Be the Day” again.

But don’t sweat it, because you can hear Modest Mouse adapt that jam on a forthcoming Buddy Holly tribute compilation that, among a widespread smattering of renowned classic and indie-rock notables (and Kid Rock), will bear a bold Music City stamp. Nashvillians The Black Keys, Karen Elson and Justin Townes Earle will join the ranks of Sir Paul McCartney, Nick Lowe, John Doe, Graham Nash, Lou Reed, Patti Smith, Fionna Apple and Jon Brion, Jenny O, Cee Lo Green, The Detroit Cobras, Julian Casablancas, She & Him, My Morning Jacket, Modest Mouse and more on the star-studded Rave On Buddy Holly, which will honor the overwhelmingly influential singer’s short life in the 75th year since his birth. The comp drops June 28 on Fantasy Records/Concord Music Group. Study the full track list and artist list (and a hodgepodge of other news items) after the jump, and read more about it here.

Rave On Buddy Holly track listing: 

1. "Dearest," The Black Keys
2. "Every Day," Fiona Apple and Jon Brion
3. "It's So Easy," Paul McCartney
4. "Not Fade Away," Florence and the Machine
5. "(You're So Square) Baby, I Don't Care," Cee Lo Green
6. "Crying, Waiting, Hoping," Karen Elson
7. "Rave On," Julian Casablancas
8. "I'm Gonna Love You Too," Jenny O.
9. "Maybe Baby," Justin Townes Earle
10. "Oh Boy," She & Him
11. "Changing All Those Changes," Nick Lowe
12. "Words Of Love," Patti Smith
13. "True Love Ways," My Morning Jacket
14. "That'll Be The Day," Modest Mouse
15. "Well ... All Right," Kid Rock
16. "Heartbeat," The Detroit Cobras
17. "Peggy Sue," Lou Reed
18. "Peggy Sue Got Married," John Doe
19. "Raining In My Heart," Graham Nash

* Speaking of the Karen Elson/Lou Reed Venn diagram, why don’t you do yourself a favor and take a couple minutes to feast your ears on Elson’s cover of Lou Reed’s “Vicious” (below, via Cover Me Songs), from her recent Third Man Record Store Day release.

* Now, if you’re looking to feast your eyes and your ears, scroll down and perpetrate a peeping of Cy Barkley and the Way Outsiders’ fresh vid for “Rock Together” (directed by Colin Lewis). It’s got a circa-’92, shot-for-public-access aesthetic. Love that. And it’s short. Real short. Love that too. Hit up Infinity Cat to order the “Rock Together” 7-inch. Thanks to the fine bunch at Nashville’s Dead for this one.

* Those of you who want to feast neither your eyes nor your ears on tracks, but would rather subject them to abject auditory and visual acts of torture, need not feel left out of this post. If that means you, then mark your calendars for July 30. That’s when American Idol’s American Idols Live 2011 Tour is slated to idle its way to Bridgestone Arena. Per usual, the lineup will include the latest AI season’s “Top 11” — in this case meaning Casey Abrams, Haley Reinhart, Jacob Lusk, James Durbin, Lauren Alaina, Naima Adedapo, Pia Toscano, Scotty McCreery, Stefano Langone, Thia Megia and Nashville’s own Paul McDonald — who a tour-announcing press release promises are “primed and pumped to give fans a night of unique and unforgettable performances.” Scene contributor and non-resident AI enthusiast Lee Stabert is stoked.

In related news: “unique” and “unforgettable” are now considered synonyms for “banal” and “forgettable,” respectively. Also in related news: O-Town has reunited. Idols Live tickets go on sale next Friday, May 3, at 10 a.m. via Ticketmaster. On the fence? Here's a scene from a recent AI episode to entice you:

* While it’s true that you can also hit up both AEG Live and AI’s official sites (and, inevitably, StubHub too, if you really wanna get masochistic with your Idol worship), one place you can’t snatch up them stubs is Grimey’s. But go there anyway to get your hands on half-priced, $5 tickets for Saturday night’s sure-fire-barn-burner Those Darlins show at Mercy Lounge, you’ll be better served that way. Wanna know why? Check out Steve Haruch’s Critic’s Pick for the show:

Yes, their newest album — called Screws Get Loose and worth every dime — has a layer of glistening reverb draped over every note, and the guitars sometimes have a washy vibe that’s somewhat reminiscent of certain other Coast-al bands that happen to be popular at the moment. But that’s pretty much just the equivalent of throwing a fancy jacket over a whiskey- and chicken grease-stained tanktop, because this band of local ruffians still gets wild. One of Nashville’s most consistently shit-kicking live bands, Those Darlins have taken their punk-country show all across the country (and even Down Under), and the fact that they don’t play for their home crowd as often anymore makes it that much more urgent to catch them when we can. Heavy Cream and Trophy Wife help get the party started.

* Wanna read another Critic’s Pick? Well, here’s the one I wrote previewing tonight’s Local H show (yeah, really) at Exit/In:

Since mid-’90s alternative rock isn’t exactly a genre marked often by irony, one might assume that archetypal alt-rockers Local H’s The Singles Tour — promising “all the hits all night” — will feature the post-grunge, pre-White-Stripes-and-Black-Keys, bass-less combo playing their 1996 chart-topper “Bound for the Floor” (i.e. the “keep it copasetic” song) on repeat, all night. Then again, a penchant for humor is a distinction that set Local H apart (and ahead) of their contemporaries; I mean, we are talking about a band that had the stones to name a song after Eddie Vedder (in 1996, no less), before ending their golden era with a concept album about cats (i.e. struggling musicians) — 1998’s critically acclaimed, commercially disappointing Pack Up the Cats. While the masses … just. Didn’t. Get it. The band — now consisting of singer Scott Lucas and former Triple Fast Action drummer Brian St. Clair — have since kept things copasetic, soldiering on through changing trends, likely ready for the inevitable alt-rock resurgence. Also, speaking of irony, local rockers The Lonely H (often mispronounced as guess who?) are playing across town at The Basement tonight. So make sure to mark your calendars correctly.


Showing 1-1 of 1


Add a comment