Shine a Light on a Worthy Culinary Professional



Read a great blog or food book lately? Liked it so much you felt it deserved recognition? The International Association of Culinary Professionals is accepting nominations now for its Bert Greene Award for food journalism. The criteria were re-worked this year and now the focus is on the topic rather than the medium. Categories include:


Culinary Writing About a Restaurant and/or Chef with or without Recipes

Culinary Writing with Recipes

Culinary Writing without Recipes

Culinary Writing about Beer, Wine and/or Spirits

Culinary Writing That Makes a Difference

Read the submission directions at the link above, and find the online submission linke or download an entry form here. Nominations are due December 7, and a fair amount of support paperwork is required, so don't let the deadline sneak up on you.

The organization also is accepting nominations for Its Awards of Excellence for people who have made exceptional contributions to the culinary fields, whether by leadership or expertise.

IACP Awards of Excellence honor our members' extraordinary

contributions and commitment to the culinary field.  Past honorees have

included such notable culinarians and companies as Rick Bayless,

Guiliano Hazan, Anne Willan, CCP, Chuck Williams, Judith Jones, Nora

Pouillon, Arthur Schwartz, The Beef Checkoff, and Cuisinart.


members who are engaged in, or recently retired from, a fulltime career

focused on the culinary industry may be considered for an IACP Award of

Excellence.   Any member of the IACP may nominate any eligible member,

including him or herself.

New This Year

have reengineered the categories to bring you an awards program that

honors the full range of our professionally diverse membership.  You'll

still find same categories that have distinguished the Awards of

Excellence for years, but you'll also find nine new categories designed

to recognize the best of the best amongst our Professional Interest

Sections.  This year's categories are:

Chef or Restaurateur of the Year
   Cooking Teacher of the Year
   Consumer Educational and Communication Materials of the Year
   Corporate Marketing Campaign of the Year
   Culinary Tour Operator of the Year
   Entrepreneur or Business Person of the Year
   Food Historian of the Year
   Food Photographer or Stylist of the Year
   Marketing Communicator of the Year
   Nutritionist or Food Scientist of the Year
   Test Kitchen Professional of the Year
   Vocational Cooking School of the Year
   Wine Steward or Sommelier of the Year
   Youth Cooking Teacher of the Year

More informations, including eligibility and guidelines for nomination, are available here. Deadline for nominations is December 7, 2009.

Add a comment