Beethoven's Triple Concerto

When: Fri., June 15, 8 p.m. 2012

As if compelled by some kind of musical gravity, conductor Lucas Richman and Ludwig van Beethoven have been joyfully orbiting each other for some time. As music director of the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra, Richman has conducted impressive and enlightening all-Beethoven concerts in each of his past two seasons there. In this week’s Nashville Symphony all-Beethoven offering, however, conductor Richman has the benefit of the Eroica Trio (pianist Erika Nickrenz, violinist Susie Park and cellist Sara Sant’Ambrogio), three admittedly elegant and glamorous women who have become practically synonymous with their luscious performances of Beethoven’s Triple Concerto for Violin, Cello and Piano. Although the Eroica Trio took their name from the nickname of Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, it is his Fourth Symphony in B-flat Major that Richman will feature on this concert — a symphony that owes most of its textural ancestry to the Second Symphony. Confused? All will be clear when you hear Richman’s characteristically careful dynamic attention to Beethoven’s delightful woodwind pronouncements. The concert opens with Beethoven’s energetic Consecration of the House Overture, Op. 124.

Alan Sherrod

Price: $29-$79

Add a review


Select a star to rate.